Gotham Volleyball


Website Maintenance

Our website is going through some routine maintenance and may experience short outages over the next few days. Thanks for your patience.

Read More

Go Gotham! Cycle for the Cause Initiative

cycle for the causeGo Gothamis seeking members of the Gotham Volleyball League to form a bicycle team to ride in Cycle for the Cause. The initiative benefits The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Community Center, with all funds raised to combat AIDS.  The ride is a fully supported 275 miles from Boston to New York, happening September 19-21. We are recruiting riders and non-riding crew members, with a deadline of July 31 to register.

If you are unable to join the ride team, there will also be many other opportunities to help with fundraising, special events, and the wrap party at the Center. Questions can be directed to Daniel Miron at [email protected]Please click HERE for details.

Read More

Fire Island Tournament 2014

Fire Island 3Registration for the Fire Island Tournament on July 19, 2014 is now CLOSED. We do need help setting up the nets on Friday, July 18 - if you can assist, please contact tournament director Josh Christensen at See the detailed information for the schedule, format, divisions, registration fees, and payment. To get more information, please CLICK HERE.

Read More

NYC Pride March: June 29, 2014

Pride photoShow your pride and march with your Gotham Volleyball friends on Sunday, June 29, 2014. It’s a fun and crowd-pleasing way to represent the league and also demonstrate your peppering skills from 36th Street down to Christopher Street.

We’ll have FREE t-shirts on a first-come, first-serve basis, so please get there early. This year, we will also have a festive pick-up truck with give-aways from two sponsors. In addition, we will bring some volleyballs, but it’s a good idea to bring your own too. Here are the details:

WHEN:   Sunday, June 29, 2014. Arrive around 11:30 AM for line-up.
WHERE:  39th Street between 5th Avenue and Madison Avenue. Note that you will not be able to cross 5th avenue  south of 42nd street from the westside after 11am. Take train to Grand Central and walk down to meeting point.
WHAT TO BRING:  Water and comfortable shoes are really important. You may also want sunscreen and/or a hat.

Read More

Fall 2014 Tryouts: Save-the-Date

gotham1League Play Tryouts:
Tuesday, August 12, Registration Opens
Saturday, August 23, Divisions 1, 2, 3
Sunday, August 24, Divisions 4, 5, 6
Saturday, September 6, Divisions 7, 8
Sunday, September 7, Divisions 9, 10
Power Tryouts:
Sunday, September 14, Power A, B, C, D, E, F
Monday, September 15, Team Power
Tuesday, September 16, Power W (O.Henry School, 333 West 17th Street)
All tryouts will be at the Bayard Rustin Educational Complex (351 West 18th Street), except where noted. League play begins September 10, 11, and 13.

Read More

Pay your Gotham Dues Online

Once you’re selected for your team, remember to pay your dues!  Dues are due the first week of play, and the easiest way to pay them is online.  Dues for Summer League play are $130  and dues for individual Summer Power classes are $160.  You can pay them here:

Click here to pay League Dues

Click here to pay Power Dues

Please remember that if you bring cash or a check to your first match or Power Class, there is a $10 fee to pay on site.  Also, if you have any questions or issues regarding dues payment, e-mail Gotham Treasurer Pam Tong at [email protected].

Read More

New Registration Process for Friendship Tournaments

This spring, registration for Friendship Tournaments will continue to take place through the Gotham website rather than by e-mail.  If you would like to register, please go to the Upcoming Friendship Tournaments page, click on the link for the tournament you are interested in and fill out the form.

Registration will open the Sunday before each tournament at 9 PM.  The link will be posted before that time, but early registrations will not be accepted.

If you have any questions about Friendship Tournaments, feel free to e-mail us at [email protected]

Read More

Email Reminders & Google Calendar

For league play you can receive an email for when you are playing and when you are referring a match. You can turn it on or off with 1 click.  Here’s how:

  1. Login to your account
  2. Scroll down to the bottom until you see  “My Upcoming Schedule |  Notify me”
  3. Click the box for Notify me

You can also have your calendar added to your Google Calendar. In the section “My Upcoming Schedule” you just need to click on the icon “remind me with Google Calendar”. This will open up a web browser window for you to review and save. I always set the beginning time to earlier so that it will cover practice & warm up time. I then set the reminder time to account for travel time and save!

Read More

Want to Coach?

Gotham Volleyball relies on volunteer coaches to coach our league teams.  We are looking for Gotham members from higher divisions interested in coaching our teams this Spring.

If you are interested in coaching a team, please email [email protected].  We will keep a list of people interested in coaching and will pair coaches up with captains/teams who need a coach.

Read More